Graphic Design for a Local Band

In August of 2013, I was asked to develop some imagery for a local band’s social media as well as other, printed material.

The Beam Me Up Ska-T’s are a ska band from Ogden, Utah who love Star Trek and puns.

I created a few different versions of the following, using a font based on the 1960s television show. I also had the idea to blend Star Trek characters Spock and Uhura with Walt Jabsco and Betty (sometimes called Beat Girl), iconic images from the 1960s ska movement.

As evident by this and other content, I was asked to substitute the “A” in “Ska-T’s” with the arrowhead emblem from the show. I had reservations doing so, in part because I feel it reduces legibility and because I don’t want to be party to copyright infringement. CBS and Paramount – If you’re reading this, I’m sorry; I didn’t want to do it. But in the end the Ska-T’s were the client and I thought it was best to make it look good, rather than have someone else do a second rate job.

, , , ,

  1. Leave a comment

Leave a comment